Impressionism

I have mixed feelings about Impressionism as a style of art. I am neither completely for it or against it. I do think that Impressionism was an important artistic style because there are art historians that believed when the Impressionistic style came about it was when art really began (Lisa Kljaich). There are some works of art that I really like from this style and some that I do not care for as much. Impressionism gained popularity very quickly and lasted from about 1867 to 1886 (Impressionism). I like the colors that present in some impressionism painting and I like the way that landscapes are presented in this style. I however am not a fan of the sketchy and unfinished look of some of the paintings in this style.Image

 

This painting is called Abstract Impressionism Costal Art, it was painted by Megan Duncanson, and the website doesn’t say when the painting was completed or where it was completed. The picture above is an example of an Impressionism painting that I really like. I mainly like this painting because I love the colors that the artist chose to use, it makes me feel happy looking at the painting. 

Image

 

This painting was painted by one of the principle Impressionists, Claude Monet (Impressionism). The painting is called Cliff Walk At Pourville. It was completed in 1882, there is no information on where the painting was made but its currently at the Art Institute of Chicago (About this Artwork). I like this painting as well because of the colors that the artist choose to use and because the place that this painting was set seems so peaceful. I am a big fan of landscape paintings.  

Image

 

This picture is one that I would say i’m not so fond of. This painting is called Mlle Bécat at the Café des Ambassadeurs, Paris. It was completed in 1877-1878 and painted by Edgar Degas. There is no information I can find that states where the painting was completed. I am not a fan of this painting because to me it seems dark and gloomy, which to me I was surprised to find that it was considered an Impressionistic painting. I also feel like the painting seems unfinished to me. This was a big complaint of people back when Impressionism was popular. A lot of people thought Impressionistic paintings looked unfinished and sketch like (Impressionism: Art and Modernity).

In my opinion, I think that Impressionism is very similar to Realism as a style of art. The artists who were apart of Realism painted real life paintings. They focused on real-life objects and real-life people. The reason I think they are similar styles is because Impressionism paintings included a bunch of landscape paintings which were a lot of time painted from real life. The painting below illustrates the comparison between the Realism artistic style vs. the Impressionistic style. The painting is called Young Women From the Village. The painting was done by Gustave Courbet. There isn’t any information about where or when the painting was completed. I think that this painting is a good comparison between the Impressionistic and Realistic styles of art during that time. The main landscape theme is consistent between both styles as well as the beautiful contrast in colors. Both styles also focused mainly on the present and didn’t pay much attention to painting history or in the future, this picture is also a good comparison because this picture looks like it is set in the present during that time and not in the future or the past. Image

 

Sources: 

1. “About This Artwork.” Cliff Walk at Pourville. Art Institute of Chicago, n.d. Web. 23 Oct. 2013. <http://www.artic.edu/aic/collections/artwork/14620>.

2. “Art History and Artists.” History: Realism Art for Kids. Ducksters, n.d. Web. 23 Oct. 2013. <http://www.ducksters.com/history/art/realism.php>.

3. “Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History.” Edgar Degas: Mlle Becat at the Cafe Des Ambassadeurs, Paris (19.29.3). The Metropolitan Museum of Art, n.d. Web. 23 Oct. 2013. <http://www.metmuseum.org/toah/works-of-art/19.29.3>.

4. “Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History.” Impressionism: Art and Modernity. The Metropolitan Museum of Art, n.d. Web. 23 Oct. 2013. <http://www.metmuseum.org/toah/hd/imml/hd_imml.htm>.

“Impressionism.” WebMuseum:Paris. N.p., n.d. Web. 23 Oct. 2013. <http://www.ibiblio.org/wm/paint/glo/impressionism/>.

5. Kljaich, Lisa. “Art Music Theater F200.” Art Music Theater F200 RSS. UAF, n.d. Web. 23 Oct. 2013.<http://amtf200.community.uaf.edu/2009/04/24/03-visual-arts-3/>.

9 thoughts on “Impressionism

  1. khinshaw22

    I really like the painting Cliff Walk at Pourville by Claude Monet. I can see why you chose it as it is a perfect example of impressionism. With the thick, broken brush strokes and bright colors, this painting is truly elegant. I also agree with your opinion on Edgar Degas’ painting because it is very “dark and gloomy” like you stated. The majority of impressionism paintings are bright, colorful, and joyous. Mlle Bécat at the Café des Ambassadeurs, Paris definitely does not fit into those categories, which is why I agree it should not be an example of impressionism.

    Reply
  2. Rachel

    I also feel the same way about Impressionism as you do. I don’t dislike it, but as a whole, I don’t love it. It comes across to me as non-descriptive and just not as pleasing to the eye as some of the other styles. I do understand why some love it though. I found it interesting that you saw Impressionism as looking “unfinished”. I liked your choice of Claude Monet’s Cliff Walk at Pourville, it really is a beautiful and peaceful painting.

    Reply
  3. swhoke

    I think that you like this style much more than I do. Although I appreciate the idea behind the paintings I think that the lack of details and somewhat, I will coin your phrase “sketchy, unfinished look” detracts from my overall “like” of the style as a whole. I will state however that not all the paintings are quite so bad, but in general they seem to be fuzzy.

    Reply
  4. klolson3

    I agree with you on the how the sketchy and unfinished look isn’t all that impressive. I also can see the comparison between impressionism and realism because there both trying to catch a moment. One is more real or based off an actual event and yet there trying to catch the moment.

    Reply
  5. mmarti2013

    Sounds like you are a bigger fan of this art than I am. The painting might make you happy with the bright rich colors used, but it looks quite dark for me. But that’s your choice and I’m cool with that. I would like to see more details in the painting but I guess that’s a Impressionism art type thing. Do you have any background on Megan Duncanson as an artist?

    Reply
  6. mlhalverson

    You had good information that was well cited. The “Young Women from the Village” is a good hybrid piece between realism and impressionism. You said impressionism gained popularity vary quickly, was it popular with the artists or with the viewers? I thought that many impressionist paintings were only valuable later on.

    There was a few formatting isues that were distracting to me. I know that for me wordpress is much more difficult to control than microsoft word. I didnt like how “this style” was down by the first painting, instead of in the paragraph., The same thing with the last painting. Also at the end Bold seems to be turning it self on and off at random making it hard to read. I like it much better when the information about a painting is right below the art than in the text, but that is just personal preference.
    You have a typo in this sentance after the black and white painting: “I am not a fan of this painting because to me it seems dark and gloomy, which to me I was surprised to find that it was considered an Impressionistic painting.”

    Reply
  7. bmgitschel

    I really liked the first piece you chose, all the different colors on the canvas do make it fun to look at. I also really enjoy landscape pieces but I also like the “sketchy, unfinished” look in Impressionist style paintings. I think they give the canvas so much more character and it was unique and revolutionary in the time period. Monet’s paintings are my favorite, thanks for including Cliff Walk at Pourville!

    Reply
  8. hmnorman

    I have mixed feelings about Impressionist art as well. Some I actually really enjoy, like the Abstract Impressionism Coastal Art piece you chose, and others just seem to fall flat for me. The Degas piece you chose is rather dark, and I’m not fond of it either. Nicely done comparing Impressions vs. Realism. You did a very good job explaining how you felt about Impressionism, as well as your individual thoughts on each of the pieces you chose for this blog. Good job.

    Reply
  9. amforde

    I really like the first painting that you posted. I agree with you in that the colors are cheerful and care cheerful. I wasn’t too fond of the painting Mlle Bécat at the Café des Ambassadeurs either, and found it also to be dark and gloomy and unfinished in some way. It didn’t bring out an expression of positiveness. You did a great job in explaining how you felt about each piece.

    Reply

Leave a comment